Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Theodore Michelson

Why Is the Forex Market Open 24 Hours a Day?

Question

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Hello, thank you for your question! 

The reason why Forex markets are open 24 hours a day is that the trades are conducted all over the world, and this leads to different time zones. Another reason is that trades are conducted over networks of computers, and not over a physical exchange place that needs to open and close at specific times.

Trading starts in the Australasian area, then Europe, and finally in America. When one of them closes, another one usually opens which leads to non-stop trading. The highest amount of daily trading is done in periods when their working hours overlap, especially in the case of the U.S. and Europe sessions.

While the time zones overlap, the generally accepted timezone for each region are as follows: 

New York 8 am to 5 pm EST (1 pm to 10 pm UTC)
Tokyo 7 pm to 4 am EST (12 am to 9 am UTC)
Sydney 5 pm to 2 am EST (10 pm to 7 am UTC)
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...