Jump to content
  • 0

Why Is the Forex Market Open 24 Hours a Day?


Theodore Michelson
 Share

Question

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Hello, thank you for your question! 

The reason why Forex markets are open 24 hours a day is that the trades are conducted all over the world, and this leads to different time zones. Another reason is that trades are conducted over networks of computers, and not over a physical exchange place that needs to open and close at specific times.

Trading starts in the Australasian area, then Europe, and finally in America. When one of them closes, another one usually opens which leads to non-stop trading. The highest amount of daily trading is done in periods when their working hours overlap, especially in the case of the U.S. and Europe sessions.

While the time zones overlap, the generally accepted timezone for each region are as follows: 

New York 8 am to 5 pm EST (1 pm to 10 pm UTC)
Tokyo 7 pm to 4 am EST (12 am to 9 am UTC)
Sydney 5 pm to 2 am EST (10 pm to 7 am UTC)
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. To reply to this question, sign in or create a new account.

Guest
Reply to this question

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...